Free Flow Wednesday: (March 23) Hannah Lemieux

Aloha!! This week is flying by, and I won’t lie I feel so unfocused!! But thank goodness it’s Spring Break, so I suppose a little slacking is required right?!!

Today I am up on The Crafty Maven Getaway. I love when I can just do my own thing, scrapping my style! Let’s face it I love to create my own backgrounds. I love to just play on white card stock and make it beautiful. I find using acrylic paints my favorite way to do transform a background.

Today I used the colors from the mood board to pick out paint that matched. I used my fave blue paint (Studio Calico color theory DeJu Vu acrylic paint), copper (Martha Stewart acrylic paint), and then mixed orange and pink together to make a coral color.  I then just painted blocks of color throughout my page. It’s that simple.

I knew I wanted to cut a cut file, my newest obsession, on top of the painted area. I picked a cut file that made me think of the pattern on the inspiration piece. I love that almost chevron looking pattern. ( I got my cut file from The Cut Shoppe,  you can follow the link to Ashley Horton’s Etsy shop to see what cool files she has.)

IMG_0972

I really had fun with patterned paper that matched the inspiration piece, corals and blues. I made pretty big layers, but since I only have one photo I am not worried about space as much.

IMG_5705

To counter balance this I tried to keep my clusters of embellishments on the layers. keeping it all one space helps the layout not look so busy.

I tucked in embellishments that had texture and colors that matched the colors I was already using. This helps keep the layout looking cohesive because I am mixing different companies products together.

 

 

IMG_0090

I love all the texture from this cluster!!

IMG_0093

I made my title fairly small because I really wanted it to fit above the photo within the layers. I didn’t want to cover up the cut file at the top. I really was trying to not go crazy all over the layout. It was really hard. Sometimes we just have to go crazy and let go!

IMG_0974

 

Here is a look at her finished layout.

 

IMG_0088

 

You can watch the process video Here.

Don’t forget you can see more process videos on my personal Youtube channel or my blog.

Stop over to our FB group and share with us what you are working on, or chat about scrappy inspiration!!

Have an Inspired Day!!

Hannah

One thought on “Free Flow Wednesday: (March 23) Hannah Lemieux

Leave a Reply

